Job Scam: Career Builder Position349
Posted by TJ on Friday January 9, 2009 @ 10:04 PM
[Tags: scam, internet, business]

Note: This is part 8 in the Job Scam Series.

This is the most complex job scam email I received so far. The email does not contain a reply to address and they ask you to complete your application through a form on the website. The whois data shows the website is registered to a NY marketing company however is probably not a legit company.

Other than this being a work-at-home position I noticed the email came from the @googlemail.com domian and that the website was only register 9-23-08 which are some of the give aways that this is a scam.

It seems as though this may be an attempt to harvest data to send marketing to you based on the information you provide but it could also be used for indenty theft.

How do I spot a job scam?
1.) The message is for a position that you did not apply for
2.) The message is from or asking for a reply to an email address from a free email provider (ie: @yahoo.com, @gmail.com)
3.)The position is for a work at home job. Let's get real here most of these positions are hard to come by.
4.) The message provides no phone and/or no mailing address
5.) The company does not have a website or the website was created in the last year. Do a whois lookup to see when a domain was created.
6.) The job has few qualifications
7.) The message is written with poor english
8.) A google search for the company finds little or no history for the company
*** This list is not all inclusive. Remember if you have to ask yourself if it's a scam it probably is!

What should I do if I provided my information to scammers?
  1. Do not respond to further communications.
  2. If you sent bank Information: Call your bank immediately and tell them what happened. They should be able to change your account number or cancel your account.
  3. If you are still concerned you might want to enroll in credit monitoring such as LifeLock Identity Theft Prevention
  4. You can also file a claim with The Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3). The Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) is a partnership between the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the National White Collar Crime Center (NW3C), and the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA). They are probably overloaded with these types of claim though, so I would not expect an individual response. You can also contact the Better Business Bureau or your states attorney general's office
  5. Post a comment below with any information you have on this scam to inform other people to try and avoid any future victims. Post the email you received with exact wording if different from original posted so when people search for terms they find this warning.

smallnah@googlemail.com said:
CareerBuilder Home Based Job Position ($2K/mo)

Applicants applying should be based in the United States.

Prospective Hire,

Our Human Resource Staff has reviewed your contact details for employment consideration. The vacancy available with our Company is an admin position which allows the assistant to work from home. This is primarily an online job paying a guaranteed $2,000 each month. After a 6 month probationary period benefits will be available to each assistant. These benefits include life insurance, dental, and health. Select assistants will be eligible for advancement to a staff position after 6 months.

This employment offer is serious and only serious individuals need apply. If this position is a great way to complement your income needs then you should apply NOW. This is a part-time position offering full time benefits and pay. Only a few hours of your time each week is required. Work schedules can be flexible. Or management and staff are willing to work around nearly any schedule. Thank you for your time and we hope to be welcoming you to our Company.

Important Note:
All interested applicants should complete the employment application located on the website at www.Position349.Com
under the Employment Section.

If you feel you received this email in error please accept our sincere apology. No further action is needed on your part and you will be removed from our system automatically if you do not respond to this offer for employment. Thank you for understanding and sorry for any inconvenience.

Applicants applying should be based in the United States.

Best Regards,
Hiring Management

Reader Comments (Page 1 of 1) 1 |
Post a Comment:
Security Code Security Code:
Comments with offensive language will be automatically deleted within 24 hours.