Note: This is part 6 in the Job Scam Series.
Job oppotunity with Business Monitor International Our corporation actively is looking for Private client managers to deal with our virtual on-line team. Professional skill isn't required. Employment: Employee Part-time Preferable time: Mon-Fri; 9:30am � 12:30pm; Country: The US Description: private service support in financial assistant of our clients Salary: $ 1200 + 5% commission Education andor Experience: High school, college or equivalent of education and experience Requirements: 1. MS Office skills 2. US authorized work status 3. Adult age 4. E-mail and Internet access 5. Cell phone for urgent duties Now you are only one step away from successful career. Interested? Apply now and get reply in 24-48 hours. Send your 4-contact information to our Hiring Department: Try us and you will be glad you did! Thank you in advance. Regards Career Center of Business Monitor International
How do I spot a job scam?
1.) The message is for a position that you did not apply for
2.) The message is from or asking for a reply to an email address from a free email provider (ie: @yahoo.com, @gmail.com)
3.)The position is for a work at home job. Let's get real here most of these positions are hard to come by.
4.) The message provides no phone and/or no mailing address
5.) The company does not have a website or the website was created in the last year. Do a whois lookup to see when a domain was created.
6.) The job has few qualifications
7.) The message is written with poor english
8.) A google search for the company finds little or no history for the company
*** This list is not all inclusive. Remember if you have to ask yourself if it's a scam it probably is!
What should I do if I provided my information to scammers?
- Do not respond to further communications.
- If you sent bank Information: Call your bank immediately and tell them what happened. They should be able to change your account number or cancel your account.
- If you are still concerned you might want to enroll in credit monitoring such as LifeLock Identity Theft Prevention
- You can also file a claim with The Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3). The Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) is a partnership between the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the National White Collar Crime Center (NW3C), and the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA). They are probably overloaded with these types of claim though, so I would not expect an individual response.
- Post a comment below with any information you have on this scam to inform other people to try and avoid any future victims. Post the email you received with exact wording if different from original posted so when people search for terms they find this warning.
- Related Articles:
- Advan LTD. AKA Advan Group LTD Careers are a scam
- Useful stuff from the United States Postal Services (USPS.com)
- Job Scam: Position with Softtehnics IT-Company
Reader Comments (Page 1 of 1)
Wednesday January 7, 2009 @ 10:53 PM
Also received this scam on January 7, 2009. Thank you for taking the time to write and post this warning.
Wednesday January 7, 2009 @ 11:57 PM
Yet another person to receive the scam. Thanks for the site and warning! Have to ask but anyone know where a good marketing, sales, or management job is located? Thanks
Friday January 9, 2009 @ 03:10 PM
I also receiived this email from Career Center of Business Monitor International
Thanks for letting me know it was a scam!
Friday January 9, 2009 @ 04:30 PM
I received this scam email today. Thanks, TJ, for posting this scam alert!
Sunday January 11, 2009 @ 12:27 PM
I also received this email. Thank you for not letting me waste my time!!
Sunday January 11, 2009 @ 03:22 PM
This scam took absolutely no detictive work to spot. What a waste of watching CSI. Beware as there are quite afew of these out there! Best wishes on the job searches you guys!
Friday January 16, 2009 @ 12:04 PM
Received the scam and got their contact info. I'm pressing charges if I can.
Emily Cook
FAX 13472963772
PHONE 3072715480
Friday January 16, 2009 @ 12:19 PM
The name is probably fictitious and the numbers are most likely open to public and not residential. I do wish you luck and hope we can catch these crooks!
Wednesday April 22, 2009 @ 06:45 AM
Hi, I am the Recruitment Manager at the REAL Business Monitor International Ltd - these people are using our name to scam a number of individuals by sending ficticious job details. We don't even hire "private client managers". These emails are nothing to do with Business Monitor International Ltd. I apologise to anyone who has been affected and we are trying to investigate, but as the email addresses they provide are all gmail accounts or similar they cannot be traced.


Wednesday January 7, 2009 @ 01:29 PM
Received this scam on Jan. 7, 2009